Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Wondering What to Read Next 3.15.16

Find something fun to read this week with these fantasy, dystopian, mystery, and time travel books.  These books are on my To Be Read list so if you read one first, let me know if it's as good as it looks.


Magic Edge (Dragon Born Alexandria Book 1)
by Ella Summers
Category: Magic
Kindle Unlimited  Free

Mercenary mage Alex Dering has spent most of her life killing deadly monsters for only peanuts in return—until the world’s most legendary immortal hires her for a prestigious assignment in Europe. In return for hunting down misbehaving supernaturals, he’s going to pay her a boatload of cash.

But a straightforward slash and burn extermination in Zurich gets a whole lot more complicated for Alex when a gang of vampires steals one piece of a magical artifact that, once assembled, has the power to kill every supernatural in the city. Well out of her depth, she’s forced into a precarious partnership with a notorious assassin, a man as seductive as he is deadly. With a band of killers hot on their trail, Alex has no choice but to trust him—even if that trust could expose her most guarded secret.

Embers of Time
by Eugenia Riley
Category: Time Travel
Kindle Unlimited  Free

When Vickie Cheney and Adrian Bennett meet in Charleston, South Carolina, at the end of World War II, both are lost souls. The handsome RAF pilot and the beautiful Army nurse are haunted by memories of war. But even more tragic, each has lost a beloved child in a recent devastating fire.

But are the children really gone? Even as Vickie and Adrian are drawn together in shared passion and grief, both see poignant images of the lost children in the Charleston streets. But are the sightings real, or merely figments of their grief-crazed imaginations? Why do the children always run away, and why do they appear in clothing from an earlier age?

Soon Vickie and Adrian embark on a fantastical journey through time to solve the mystery and find the lost children. But they arrive at a moment in time only days before the great Charleston earthquake will destroy the city, while being pursued by a villain determined to kill them all. Can they find the children in time? Will their wounded souls find healing together? And can a miracle really happen, a miracle that will prove that love is stronger than time . . . and even death



Twiceborn (The Proving Book 1)
by Marina Finlayson
Category: Fantasy
Kindle Unlimited Free

Still grieving her beloved son, Kate O’Connor’s just going through the motions. She doesn’t care that strangers often shadow her on the unorthodox courier jobs she does for a friend. She doesn’t even care what’s in the packages until the day she returns from a special rush job with no memory of the event. But it must have been pretty wild, because now there’s a werewolf in her kitchen trying to kill her—and he’s just the first in line.

Dragged into a supernatural war of succession between the daughters of the dragon queen, Kate discovers a Sydney she never knew existed, peopled by all kinds of strange half-human creatures. To have any hope of surviving she must uncover the explosive secret hidden in her memory—but first she has to live through the night.

Epiphany: Part One
by Gemma James
Category: Mystery
Kindle Unlimited Free

He’s haunted her dreams for years, but she’s never laid eyes on him. Until now.

I’ve always seen things in my dreams that I can’t explain, but the reality of Aidan blindsides me, his mere presence a captivating force I can’t fight. What’s worse…I don’t want to. He burrows under my skin and unearths my biggest secret, even as he hides his own demons. Then he warns me away. Stubborn man.

I’m already in too deep, and if staying means I’m the next victim of the Hangman’s noose, then so be it. Not even the threat of a serial killer can keep me away.



Perception: (A Sci-fi Mystery Dystopian Romance) (The Perception Trilogy Book 1)
by Lee Strauss
Category: Dystopian

Seventeen year old Zoe Vanderveen is a GAP--a genetically altered person. She lives in the security of a walled city on prime water-front property along side other equally beautiful people with extended life spans.
Her brother Liam is missing.

Noah Brody is a natural who lives on the outside. He leads protests against the GAPs and detests the widening chasm they've created between those who have and those who don't. He doesn't like girls like Zoe and he has good reason not to like her specifically.

Zoe's carefree life takes a traumatic turn. She's in trouble and it turns out that Noah, the last guy on earth she should trust, is the only one who can help her.

The Mind Readers
by Lori Brighton
Category: Fantasy

Cameron Winters is a freak. Fortunately, no one but her family knows the truth …that Cameron can read minds. For years Cameron has hidden behind a facade of normalcy, warned that there are those who would do her harm. When gorgeous and mysterious Lewis Douglas arrives he destroys everything Cameron has ever believed and tempts her with possibilities of freedom. Determined to embrace her hidden talents, Cameron heads to a secret haven with Lewis; a place where she meets others like her, Mind Readers.

But as Cameron soon finds out some things are too good to be true. When the Mind Readers realize the extent of Cameron’s abilities, they want to use her powers for their own needs. Cameron suddenly finds herself involved in a war in which her idea of what is right and wrong is greatly tested. In the end she’ll be forced to make a choice that will not only threaten her relationship with Lewis, but her very life.


Find more great books to read: