Monday, April 25, 2016

April 2016 Uppercase Subscription Box Review

April 2016 Uppercase Subscription Box Review by The Treasured Bookshelf

I love the end of the month when all my subscription boxes arrive.  It was a rough month with not a lot of time for reading, so I was thrilled to receive the Uppercase Subscription box with it's YA novel and fun goodies.
I love to read Young Adult fiction because of all the drama, action, and adventure without a lot of the extra "romantic craziness" that can be found in some of the adult fiction out there.  Now don't get me wrong, I love a good romance, but sometimes it gets a little over the top and I find myself coming back to good Young Adult fiction.

April 2016 Uppercase Subscription Box

One of the things I love most about the Uppercase subscription box is that the shipping comes via USPS priority mail.  So by the time you receive the shipping notice, the box is on it's way and almost to you.  I love quick shipping so I don't have to sit watching for the mailman for days on end.

The young adult book and goodies arrives in a nylon drawstring bag with the Uppercase logo on it.  It's a good sized bag, although I admit, I haven't found a good use for it yet.  But as soon as I do, the quality and size will make it a great addition to my organizing and library.

The box comes with a letter describing everything contained in the drawstring bag.  I love that it has who made the items so if you want to look up more items by that shop, you can do it.  I really wish more subscription boxes would do that. 

The letter also contains a personalized letter written by the curator of the box.  April's letter reads "Are you ready to laugh out loud?! I chose this novel because I was so impressed with how the story looked at online communities, the high school experience and feminism in a hilarious and clever way."

This box came with a small pin that reads "I read YA" in honor of This Is Teen's "IReadYa Week.  (May 19-23.)

Scarlett Epstein Hates it Here by Anna Breslaw in Uppercase Subscription Box

This month's book is one that I've never heard of before.  I think the curator does a great job in finding fun books that aren't on my radar.  Plus, I love that the book is signed by the author. The book also comes with a bookmark so you can follow along with other readers and interact while reading the book.  It's like a virtual book club that you can join in whenever you get around to reading the book.  So cool!

This is what Amazon says about the book, Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here by Anna Breslaw: "Cross Veronica Mars with MTV's Daria, and you’ll get Scarlett Epstein, the snarky, judgmental, and often hilarious star of Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here, a witty and heartwarming novel that’s perfect for fans of David Arnold’s Mosquitoland and Kody Keplinger’s The Duff. 

Meet Scarlett Epstein, BNF (Big Name Fan) in her online community of fanfiction writers, world-class nobody at Melville High. Her best (read: only) IRL friends are Avery, a painfully shy and annoyingly attractive bookworm, and Ruth, her pot-smoking, possibly insane seventy-three-year-old neighbor.

When Scarlett’s beloved TV show is canceled and her longtime crush, Gideon, is sucked out of her orbit and into the dark and distant world of Populars, Scarlett turns to the fanfic message boards for comfort. This time, though, her subjects aren’t the swoon-worthy stars of her fave series—they’re the real-life kids from her high school. Scarlett never considers what might happen if they were to find out what she truly thinks about them...until a dramatic series of events exposes a very different reality than Scarlett's stories, forever transforming her approach to relationships—both online and off."


The Uppercase Subscription Box also contained some great Harry Potter items.  I think Harry Potter is one of the most famous, and loved, young adult book series out there.  So it's always awesome to get some new items to add to my collection...especially when the items are as beautiful and useful as this month's box treats are.

The box came with a lined, black notebook from Literary Emporium.  The notebook reads "The Book of Potions" on the front.  It's about 5x8 inches in size, and rather thin, so it will fit beautifully in a purse or backpack to carry around and take notes with.

There were also two Uppercase exclusive magnetic bookmarks from BeedooTO included.  The bookmarks are Hagrid and Buckbeak and will mark my spot while reading beautifully.  I love using magnetic bookmarks since they are so fun and beautiful.

There is also an Uppercase exclusive Harry Potter poster included with the box from Risa Rodil.  The poster reads "We've all got both Light and Dark inside us. What matters it the part we choose to act on.  That's who we really are."  The poster is 8 1/2 inches by 11 inches in size.  I can't wait to get to my new home and hang this in my library as a decoration (Yes, I'm thinking positive that I'll get a room for a library after the move.  It's what keeps me going through the weeding and pre-packing.)

April 2016 Uppercase Subscription Box Review by The Treasured Bookshelf

If you are interested in checking out the Uppercase Subscription box for May, you can sign up anytime by the end of the month to get the next month's box.  The box is $23.00 per month with $6.00 shipping and boxes ship out on the 15th of the month.

Check out all of my Subscription box reviews here, and see which ones are my favorites.